It’s Been A Slice!

Well, I come to the end of my first “Slice of Life” 31 day challenge. I must say it was really a challenge for me. I had the fear and thrill feelings just like, when I used to ride a roller coaster.

FEAR

When I was asked to join, I immediately responded, “No, don’t ask me to write, I can’t”. I will admit, that has always been one of my weakness. Another respond I gave was, “No, I don’t think so” because I knew that teachers, principals, administrators and great writers would be participating and I didn’t want to write because my writing would be simple and boring.

Thrill

I decided to give it a try because I was told to give it a try for a couple of days. At first when I started,  I was excited, I was writing, I was sharing, I was looking forward to it but that only lasted 4 days.

Fear

I can’t write

I don’t have time

I don’t know what to write

It’s too much pressure for me

Then in reading and comparing my slices to others (my writing compared to others, was pretty sad).

Thrill

I started to see the comments (the orange slices) of some of those who were enjoying or at least reading what I shared.

Well, I must admit, I was actually enjoying it on some days. Everyday, I would read my “Slice of Life” to my husband and family. My son was impressed (with some of them) because he knew how many times I would complain to him and tell him, “I didn’t know how or what to write or why did I agree to join”. I would read them to my daughter (she lives in California), and she would notice in my voice, how excited I was to read and share them with her. On several occasions, she would say, “mom it sounds like you’re actually enjoying,…this writing thing”. Well to be honest there were days I enjoyed it and there were days, my mind would go blank and didn’t know what to write.

Well, just as I would get off the roller coaster….I would get the feeling that even though I enjoyed it and had the thrill and fear feelings for those couple of minutes, I was glad and relieved it was over. That is exactly what I am feeling at the end of this challenge. RELIEVED…..Glad it’s over!

Signing off…until the “next slice” (maybe)

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “It’s Been A Slice!

  1. Diana, I am so very happy that you decided to join us AND to stick with us! I watched as you tried different techniques in your writing. You took risks. You were brave. We are extremely proud of you here in the office – you ARE a Writer!!!

    Like

  2. Great job! I see new writer’s craft in your writing…a definite pattern with Fear, Thrill, Fear, Thrill. And don’t ever think it comes easy to any of us. This writing stuff is challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

